College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
Environmental Science & Technology

Soil and Watershed Sciences

The specialization in Soil and Watershed Sciences graduate program prepares students to address challenging environmental issues that involve the soil resource at field, landscape and watershed scales.

Soils are the most complex and ecologically significant biogeochemical systems on Earth. Soil processes and the soil resource are critical to all terrestrial ecosystems from prairies to the Alaskan tundra, to wetlands, to our cities, to forests to biofuel farms. Soil Science is at the center of the study of what the National Science Foundation terms the Critical Zone - the confluence of atmosphere, lithosphere, hydrosphere and biosphere near the surface of the Earth.

Soil Science Faculty

frank Frank Coale, Professor
Agricultural Nutrient Management, Soil Fertility, Agroecology
fjcoale@umd.edu
felton Gary Felton, Associate Professor
Extension Water Quality Specialist
gfelton@umd.edu
bob Bob Hill, Professor
Soil Physics, Soil & Water Management
rlh@umd.edu
Bruce Bruce James, Professor
Soil Chemistry and Affiliate in Geology
Director, Environmental Science and Policy Program. Director, Environmental Studies Program of College Park Scholars

brjames@umd.edu
Dr. Brian Needelman Brian Needelman, Assistant Professor
Soil Science (Pedology), Water Quality, Carbon Sequestration
bneed@umd.edu
Dr. Brian Needelman Mitchell Pavao-Zuckerman, Assistant Professor
Urban Ecosystem Ecology, Ecosystem Services, Social-Ecological Systems, Soil Ecology
mpzucker@umd.edu
Dr. Wendy Ann Peer Wendy Ann Peer, Assistant Professor
wapeer@umd.edu
Dr. Martin Rabenhorst Martin Rabenhorst, Professor
Pedology, Soils of Wetland Ecosystems, Subaqueous Soils
mrabenho@umd.edu
weill Ray Weil, Professor
Soil Science, Nutrient Cycling, Sustainable Agriculture Systems
rweil@umd.edu
Yarwood Stephanie Yarwood, Assistant Professor
Environmental Microbiology
syarwood@umd.edu

 

For more information, contact the Graduate Studies Coordinator

Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2017. Web Accessibility