College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
Environmental Science & Technology

Wetland Science

The specialization in Wetland Science addresses the keen awareness among the Environmental community that wetlands represent a critical and understudied component of many larger ecosystems. Hydrophytic vegetation, hydric soils and wetland hydrology all contribute to make wetlands the significant and highly complex ecosystems that they are.

In addition to the more obvious recreational and aesthetic contributions of wetlands, they provide fish and wildlife habitat, protect and enhance water quality through biogeochemical processes, increase flood protection through flood water storage mechanisms, and afford protection against shoreline erosion. Wetlands have rapidly gained public attention over the last two decades as they have been brought into the limelight by state and federal regulations and through the attention given such large scale environmental issues as hurricane Katrina.

Wetland Science Faculty

andy

Andrew Baldwin, Professor
Plant Ecology of Natural, Restored, and Treatment Wetlands, Ecological Engineering
baldwin@umd.edu

Harrell Reginal M. Harrell, Professor
Environmental and Biological Ethics, Physiological Genetics, Stress in Animals, Aquaculture and Phytoremediation, Restoration Ecology
rharrell@umd.edu
kangas Patrick Kangas, Associate Professor
Ecological Design, Ecological Engineering, Tropical Ecology and Sustainability
pkangas@umd.edu
Michael Kearney, Professor
Coastal Environments and Oceanography
kearneym@umd.edu
 Bahram Momen Bahram Momen, Associate Professor
Ecosystem Ecology, BioStatistics
bmomen@umd.edu
Dr. Brian Needelman Brian Needelman, Associate Professor
Soil Science (Pedology), Water Quality, Carbon Sequestration
bneed@umd.edu
Dr. Wendy Ann Peer Wendy Ann Peer, Assistant Professor
wapeer@umd.edu
marty Martin Rabenhorst, Professor
Pedology, Soils of Wetland Ecosystems, Subaqueous Soils
mrabenho@umd.edu
tilley David Tilley, Associate Professor
Ecological Engineering, Wetland Health Assessment, Energy-based Environmental Accounting
dtilley@umd.edu



For more information, contact the Graduate Studies Coordinator

Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2017. Web Accessibility