College of Agriculture & Natural Resources
Environmental Science & Technology

Wetland Science & Engineering

Hydrophytic vegetation, hydric soils and wetland hydrology all contribute to make wetlands the significant and highly complex ecosystems that they are. In addition to the more obvious recreational and aesthetic contributions of wetlands, they also provide fish and wildlife habitat, protect and enhance water quality through biogeochemical processes, increase flood protection through flood water storage mechanisms, and afford protection against shoreline erosion. Wetlands have rapidly gained public attention over the last two decades as they have been brought into the limelight by state and federal regulations and through the attention given such large scale environmental issues as hurricane Katrina.

WETLAND SCIENCE RESEARCHERS

andy

Andrew Baldwin
Professor
baldwin@umd.edu

Harrell

Reginal M. Harrell
Professor
rharrell@umd.edu 

kangas

Pat Kangas
Associate Professor
pkangas@umd.edu 

Michael Kearney
Professor
kearneym@umd.edu 

Bahram Momen

Bahram Momen
Associate Professor
bmomen@umd.edu 

Dr. Brian Needelman

Brian Needelman
Associate Professor
bneed@umd.edu 

marty

Martin Rabenhorst
Professor
mrabenho@umd.edu

tilley

David Tilley
Associate Professor
dtilley@umd.edu 

Maintained by the IET Department of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. © 2017. Web Accessibility