ENST Students on the Team that wins EPA's RainWorks Challenge

May 2, 2016

A University of Maryland team is this year’s winner of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s fourth annual Campus RainWorks Challenge, a national design competition created to engage college and university students in reinventing our water infrastructure and developing green infrastructure systems to reduce storm water pollution, build resilience to climate change and develop sustainable communities. Seventy-seven schools form twenty-nine states participated in the competition, and a team from UMD emerged victorious for the second consecutive year.

The winning UMD team consisted of three landscape architecture students, including Sorvalis, Kathleen Hayes, and Matt Zerfas; Environmental Science and Technology students Emma Giese and Sharon Hartzell; and Civil Engineering student Jason Renkenberger. The students were advised by Dr. Victoria Chanse, an assistant professor in the Department of Plant Science and Landscape Architecture (PSLA). Additional student, faculty, and staff advisors and contributors included Dr. Mitch Paavo-Zuckerman, Dennis Nola, Stephen Reid, Michael Carmichael, Dean David Conrath, Darwin Fuerstein, Diane Cameron, Dr. Peter May, Karen Petroff, Elisabeth Walker, Rick Scaffidi, and Harris Trobman. Read More>>