Faculty

ENST Faculty

All Faculty

Name Position Title  Phone Email Address
Lowell Adams Adjunct Associate Professor   ladams4@umd.edu
Naresh Amradi Post-Doc Associate   nareshka@umd.edu
Eni Baballari
Soil Science & Ecology
Lecturer and Advisor 301-405-7838 ebaballa@umd.edu
Andy Baldwin
Wetland Ecology & Restoration
Professor   |   Video Intro 301-405-7855 baldwin@umd.edu
Kreshnik Bejleri Faculty Assistant 301-405-8550 kbejleri@umd.edu 
William Bowerman
Wildlife Ecology & Toxicology
Professor and Department Chair 301-405-1306 wbowerma@umd.edu
Elizabeth Brandt Faculty Assistant 301 405-3911 ebrandt@umd.edu
Shannon P. Browne
Urban Wildlife Ecology
Senior Lecturer & Advisor   |   Video Intro 301-405-1193 shannpb@umd.edu
Charles Burgis Post-Doc Research Associate 301-405-1215 cburgis@umd.edu
Ruth Cassilly Faculty Assistant, Chesapeake Bay Agricultural Programs 410-267-5707 rcassill@umd.edu
Frank Coale
Agricultural Nutrient
Management
Professor & Acting Assistant Dean 301-405-0505 fjcoale@umd.edu
Loretta Collins Faculty Assistant, Chesapeake Bay Agricultural Programs 301-405-1318 collins2@umd.edu
Ling Du Post-Doc Associate   lingdu@umd.edu
Shuiwang Duan Assistant Research Scientist 301-405-2851 sduan@umd.edu
Candice Duncan
Environmental Science &
Contaminant Remediation
Assistant Professor 301-405-1351 cduncan1@umd.edu 
Travis Gallo Assistant Professor 301-405-1306 tgallo@umd.edu
Matthew Gonnerman Post-Doc Associate    
Meredith Gore Adjunct Associate Professor 607-592-0422 mgore@umd.edu
Jennifer Gunnulfsen
Environmental Health
Lecturer & Advisor   |   Video Intro 301-405-1184 jgunnulf@umd.edu
Reginal Harrell
Natural Resource Ethics
Professor and Extension Specialist 301-405-6511 rharrell@umd.edu
Johanna Harvey Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1179 jaharvey@umd.edu
Amro Hassanein
Bioenergy &
Bioprocessing Technology
Assistant Research Scientist 301-405-7964 ahassane@umd.edu
Robert Hill
Soil Physics, Soil &
Water Management
Professor 301-405-1347 rlh@umd.edu
William Hubbard Assistant Director UME & Adjunct Professor 301-789-9441 whubbard@umd.edu
Jose-Luis Izursa
Sustainable Food
Production Systems
Senior Lecturer and Advisor 301-405-1195 jlizursa@umd.edu
Natalie Karouna-Renier Adjunct Associate Professor   nkarouna@umd.edu
Edward Landa
Inorganic & Radioactive
Contaminants
Adjunct Professor 703-220-6935 erlanda@umd.edu 
Stephanie Lansing
Bioenergy & Bioprocessing
Technology, Renewable Energy
Professor   |   Video Intro 301-405-1197 slansing@umd.edu 
Paul Leisnham
Human & Ecosystem Health
Professor 301-405-8569 leisnham@umd.edu
Maxine Levin Lecturer 301-526-8809 mjlevin@umd.edu
Emileigh Rosso Lucas Faculty Specialist 301-405-2465 erosso@umd.edu
Peter May
Ecological Engineering &
Algal Ecotechnology
Assistant Research Professor 443-690-7021 pimay@umd.edu
Kate McClure Agent Associate 410-827-8056 x131 mcclure@umd.edu
Jennifer M Mullinax
Wildlife Ecology &
Management
Assistant Professor 301-405-8373 wildlife@umd.edu
Brian Needelman
Pedology & Wetland Soils,
Carbon Sequestration
Associate Professor 301-405-8227 bneed@umd.edu 
Masoud Negahban-Azar
Water Resources &
Environmental Engineering
Assistant Professor 301-405-1188 mnazar@umd.edu
Mitchell Pavao-Zuckerman
Urban Ecosystems &
Sustainability
Associate Professor 301-405-1178 mpzucker@umd.edu
Wendy Peer
Plant Biology &
Chemical Ecology
Associate Professor 301-405-5491 wapeer@umd.edu
Erin Poor Post-Doc Associate 301-405-0095 erinpoor@umd.edu
Marty Rabenhorst
Pedology and Wetland Soils
Ray Weil E-Nnovate Endowed Professor
in Soil Science, Director of Graduate Studies
301-405-1343 mrabenho@umd.edu
Azbina Rahman Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1188 azbinar@umd.edu
Barnett Rattner Adjunct Professor 301-497-5671 brattner@usgs.gov
Clifford Rice Adjunct Professor 301-405-1197 crice125@umd.edu
David Ruppert
Agricultural Nutrient
Management
Assistant Clinical Professor 301-405-1319 druppert@umd.edu
Drew Schiavone Adjunct Assistant Professor 301-432-2767 dschiavo@umd.edu
Adel Shirmohammadi
Hydrologic Modeling &
Management
Professor, Associate Dean for Research and
Associate Director of Maryland Ag.
Experiment Station (MAES)
301-405-2459 ashirmo@umd.edu
Jelena Srebric Affiliate Professor 301-405-7276 jsrebric@umd.edu
Patricia Steinhilber Affiliate Professor   psteinhi@umd.edu
Ron Sternberg Adjunct Professor 301-405-8844 yaronst@umd.edu
Joseph Sullivan Affiliate Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Programs 301-405-8573 jsull@umd.edu
Prabhakar Tamboli Adjunct Professor and Director of International Training Programs 301-405-1315 ptamboli@umd.edu
David Tilley
Ecological Engineering &
Entrepreneurship
Associate Professor 301-405-8027 dtilley@umd.edu
Gurpal Toor
Nutrient Management &
Water Quality
Professor & Extension Specialist 301-405-1215 gstoor@umd.edu
Ray Weil
Soil Science
Professor   |   Video Intro 301-405-1314 rweil@umd.edu
Jared Wilmoth
Soil Chemistry
Assistant Professor 301-405-1306 jwilmoth@umd.edu
Stephanie Yarwood
Soil Microbial Ecology
Associate Professor 301-405-1345 syarwood@umd.edu
Lance Yonkos
Aquatic Toxicology
Associate Professor 301-405-7871 lyonkos@umd.edu

ENST Professors

Name Position Title Phone Email Address
Andy Baldwin
Wetland Ecology & Restoration
Professor   |   Video Intro 301-405-7855 baldwin@umd.edu
William Bowerman
Wildlife Ecology & Toxicology
Professor and Department Chair 301-405-1306 wbowerma@umd.edu
Frank Coale
Agricultural Nutrient
Management
Professor & Acting Assistant Dean 301-405-0505 fjcoale@umd.edu
Candice Duncan
Environmental Science &
Contaminant Remediation
Assistant Professor 301-405-1351 cduncan1@umd.edu 
Travis Gallo Assistant Professor 301-405-1306 tgallo@umd.edu
Reginal Harrell
Natural Resource Ethics
Professor and Extension Specialist 301-405-6511 rharrell@umd.edu
Robert Hill
Soil Physics, Soil &
Water Management
Professor 301-405-1347 rlh@umd.edu
Stephanie Lansing
Bioenergy & Bioprocessing
Technology, Renewable Energy
Professor   |   Video Intro 301-405-1197 slansing@umd.edu 
Paul Leisnham
Human & Ecosystem Health
Professor 301-405-8569 leisnham@umd.edu
Peter May
Ecological Engineering &
Algal Ecotechnology
Assistant Research Professor 443-690-7021 pimay@umd.edu
Jennifer M Mullinax
Wildlife Ecology &
Management
Assistant Professor 301-405-8373 wildlife@umd.edu
Brian Needelman
Pedology & Wetland Soils,
Carbon Sequestration
Associate Professor 301-405-8227 bneed@umd.edu 
Masoud Negahban-Azar
Water Resources &
Environmental Engineering
Assistant Professor 301-405-1188 mnazar@umd.edu
Mitchell Pavao-Zuckerman
Urban Ecosystems &
Sustainability
Associate Professor 301-405-1178 mpzucker@umd.edu
Wendy Peer
Plant Biology &
Chemical Ecology
Associate Professor 301-405-5491 wapeer@umd.edu
Marty Rabenhorst
Pedology and Wetland Soils
Ray Weil E-Nnovate Endowed Professor
in Soil Science, Director of Graduate Studies
301-405-1343 mrabenho@umd.edu
David Ruppert
Agricultural Nutrient
Management
Assistant Clinical Professor 301-405-1319 druppert@umd.edu
Adel Shirmohammadi
Hydrologic Modeling &
Management
Professor, Associate Dean for Research and
Associate Director of Maryland Ag.
Experiment Station (MAES)
301-405-2459 ashirmo@umd.edu
David Tilley
Ecological Engineering &
Entrepreneurship
Associate Professor 301-405-8027 dtilley@umd.edu
Gurpal Toor
Nutrient Management &
Water Quality
Professor & Extension Specialist 301-405-1215 gstoor@umd.edu
Ray Weil
Soil Science
Professor   |   Video Intro 301-405-1314 rweil@umd.edu
Jared Wilmoth
Soil Chemistry
Assistant Professor 301-405-1306 jwilmoth@umd.edu
Stephanie Yarwood
Soil Microbial Ecology
Associate Professor 301-405-1345 syarwood@umd.edu
Lance Yonkos
Aquatic Toxicology
Associate Professor 301-405-7871 lyonkos@umd.edu

ENST Lecturers

Name Position Title Phone Email Address
Eni Baballari
Soil Science & Ecology
Lecturer and Advisor 301-405-7838 ebaballa@umd.edu
Shannon P. Browne
Urban Wildlife Ecology
Senior Lecturer & Advisor   |   Video Intro 301-405-1193 shannpb@umd.edu
Jennifer Gunnulfsen
Environmental Health
Lecturer & Advisor   |   Video Intro 301-405-1184 jgunnulf@umd.edu
Jose-Luis Izursa
Sustainable Food
Production Systems
Senior Lecturer and Advisor 301-405-1195 jlizursa@umd.edu
Maxine Levin Lecturer 301-526-8809 mjlevin@umd.edu

Adjunct & Affiliate Professors

Name Position Title  Phone Email Address
Lowell Adams Adjunct Associate Professor   ladams4@umd.edu
Meredith Gore Adjunct Associate Professor 607-592-0422 mgore@umd.edu
William Hubbard Assistant Director UME & Adjunct Professor 301-789-9441 whubbard@umd.edu
Natalie Karouna-Renier Adjunct Associate Professor   nkarouna@umd.edu
Edward Landa
Inorganic & Radioactive
Contaminants
Adjunct Professor 703-220-6935 erlanda@umd.edu 
Steven Mirsky Adjunct Assistant Professor 301-504-5324 smirsky@umd.edu
Barnett Rattner Adjunct Professor 301-497-5671 brattner@usgs.gov
Clifford Rice Adjunct Professor 301-405-1197 crice125@umd.edu
Drew Schiavone Adjunct Assistant Professor 301-432-2767 dschiavo@umd.edu
Jelena Srebric Affiliate Professor 301-405-7276 jsrebric@umd.edu
Patricia Steinhilber Affiliate Professor   psteinhi@umd.edu
Ron Sternberg Adjunct Professor 301-405-8844 yaronst@umd.edu
Joseph Sullivan Affiliate Professor and Associate
Dean for Academic Programs
301-405-8573 jsull@umd.edu
Prabhakar Tamboli Adjunct Professor and Director of
International Training Programs
301-405-1315 ptamboli@umd.edu

Research Staff & Post-Docs

Name Position Title  Phone Email Address
Naresh Amradi Post-Doc Associate   nareshka@umd.edu
Kreshnik Bejleri Faculty Assistant 301-405-8550 kbejleri@umd.edu 
Elizabeth Brandt Faculty Assistant 301 405-3911 ebrandt@umd.edu
Charles Burgis Post-Doc Research Associate 301-405-1215 cburgis@umd.edu
Ruth Cassilly Faculty Assistant, Chesapeake Bay Agricultural Programs 410-267-5707 rcassill@umd.edu
Loretta Collins Faculty Assistant, Chesapeake Bay Agricultural Programs 301-405-1318 collins2@umd.edu
Ling Du Post-Doc Associate   lingdu@umd.edu
Shuiwang Duan Assistant Research Scientist 301-405-2851 sduan@umd.edu
Matthew Gonnerman Post-Doc Associate    
Teryl Grubb Faculty Specialist 301-405-1306 tgrubb@umd.edu
Johanna Harvey Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1179 jaharvey@umd.edu
Amro Hassanein
Bioenergy &
Bioprocessing Technology
Assistant Research Scientist 301-405-7964 ahassane@umd.edu
Emileigh Rosso Lucas Faculty Specialist 301-405-2465 erosso@umd.edu
Kate McClure Agent Associate 410-827-8056 x131 mcclure@umd.edu
Erin Poor Post-Doc Associate 301-405-0095 erinpoor@umd.edu
Azbina Rahman Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1188 azbinar@umd.edu