Faculty

ENST Faculty

All Faculty

Name Position Title Phone Email Address
Lowell Adams Adjunct Associate Professor 301-405-1395 ladams4@umd.edu
Naresh Amradi Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1187 nareshka@umd.edu
Eni Baballari
Soil Science & Ecology
Lecturer & Advisor 301-405-7838 ebaballa@umd.edu
Andy Baldwin
Wetland Ecology & Restoration
Professor   |   Video Intro 301-405-7855 baldwin@umd.edu
John Bouwkamp Faculty Assistant 301-405-4334 jbouwkam@umd.edu
William Bowerman
Wildlife Ecology & Toxicology
Professor 301-405-1306 wbowerma@umd.edu
Shannon P. Browne
Urban Wildlife Ecology
Senior Lecturer & Advisor   |   Video Intro 301-405-1193 shannon3@umd.edu
Ruth Cassilly Faculty Assistant, Chesapeake Bay Agricultural Programs 410-652-0070 rcassill@umd.edu
Frank Coale
Agricultural Nutrient
Management
Professor & Acting Assistant Dean 301-405-0505 fjcoale@umd.edu
Ling Du Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1343 lingdu@umd.edu
Shuiwang Duan Assistant Research Scientist 301-405-2851 sduan@umd.edu
Mark Dubin Faculty Specialist, Chesapeake Bay Agricultural Programs 410-267-9833 mdubin06@umd.edu
Candice Duncan
Environmental Science &
Contaminant Remediation
Assistant Professor 301-405-1351 cduncan1@umd.edu 
Travis Gallo
Quantitative & Landscape
Ecology
Assistant Professor 301-405-1306 tgallo@umd.edu
Matthew Gonnerman Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1179 mgonnerm@umd.edu
Jennifer Gunnulfsen
Environmental Health
Lecturer & Advisor 301-405-1184 jgunnulf@umd.edu
Reginal Harrell
Natural Resource Ethics
Professor and Extension Specialist 301-405-6511 rharrell@umd.edu
Johanna Harvey Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1179 jaharvey@umd.edu
Amro Hassanein
Bioenergy &
Bioprocessing Technology
Associate Research Scientist 301-405-7964 ahassane@umd.edu
Robert Hill
Soil Physics, Soil &
Water Management
Professor 301-405-1347 rlh@umd.edu
Alexandra Huddell Faculty Assistant 301-405-8227 ahuddell@umd.edu
Jose-Luis Izursa
Sustainable Food
Production Systems
Senior Lecturer & Advisor 301-405-1195 jlizursa@umd.edu
Darren Jarboe Affiliate Principal Agent 301-405-6935 jarboe@umd.edu
Hemendra Kumar Affiliate Agent 301-226-7405 hemendra@umd.edu
Edward Landa
Inorganic & Radioactive
Contaminants
Adjunct Professor 703-220-6935 erlanda@umd.edu 
Stephanie Lansing
Bioenergy & Bioprocessing
Technology, Renewable Energy
Professor   |   Video Intro 301-405-1197 slansing@umd.edu 
Diane Leason Faculty Assistant 410-474-5676 dleason@umd.edu
Paul Leisnham
Human & Ecosystem Health
Professor and Department Chair 301-405-8569 leisnham@umd.edu
Maxine Levin Lecturer 301-526-8809 mjlevin@umd.edu
Peter May
Ecological Engineering &
Algal Ecotechnology
Assistant Research Professor 443-690-7021 pimay@umd.edu
Eugene Mironenko Faculty Assistant 301-405-8542 emironen@umd.edu
Jennifer M Mullinax
Wildlife Ecology &
Management
Associate Professor 301-405-8373 wildlife@umd.edu
Brian Needelman
Pedology & Wetland Soils,
Carbon Sequestration
Associate Professor 301-405-8227 bneed@umd.edu 
Masoud Negahban-Azar
Water Resources &
Environmental Engineering
Associate Professor 301-405-1188 mnazar@umd.edu
Catherine Oberfield Faculty Assistant 410-222-3900 catoberf@umd.edu
Daniela Ochoa Gonzalez Faculty Assistant 301-405-1197 daniela8@umd.edu
Maria Palomo Munoz Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1178 gpalomo@umd.edu
Mitchell Pavao-Zuckerman
Urban Ecosystems &
Sustainability
Associate Professor 301-405-1178 mpzucker@umd.edu
Wendy Peer
Plant Biology &
Chemical Ecology
Associate Professor 301-405-5491 wapeer@umd.edu
Marty Rabenhorst
Pedology and Wetland Soils
Ray Weil E-Nnovate Endowed Professor
in Soil Science, Director of Graduate Studies
301-405-1343 mrabenho@umd.edu
Jesse Radolinski Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1215 jradolin@umd.edu
Azbina Rahman Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1188 azbinar@umd.edu
Dana Sackett Assistant Research Professor 301-405-7871 dsackett@umd.edu
Jen Shaffer Affiliate Associate Professor 301-405-1441 lshaffe1@umd.edu
Adel Shirmohammadi
Hydrologic Modeling &
Management
Professor, Associate Dean for Research and
Associate Director of Maryland Ag.
Experiment Station (MAES)
301-405-2459 ashirmo@umd.edu
Patricia Steinhilber Affiliate Professor   psteinhi@umd.edu
Prabhakar Tamboli Adjunct Professor and Director of
International Training Programs
301-405-1315 ptamboli@umd.edu
David Tilley
Ecological Engineering &
Entrepreneurship
Associate Professor 301-405-8027 dtilley@umd.edu
Gurpal Toor
Nutrient Management &
Water Quality
Professor & Extension Specialist 301-405-1215 gstoor@umd.edu
Ray Weil
Soil Science
Professor   |   Video Intro 301-405-1314 rweil@umd.edu
Jared Wilmoth
Soil Chemistry
Assistant Professor 301-405-1306 jwilmoth@umd.edu
Alexander Yakirevich Faculty Assistant 410-833-1958 ayakirev@umd.edu
Stephanie Yarwood
Soil Microbial Ecology
Associate Professor 301-405-1345 syarwood@umd.edu
Lance Yonkos
Aquatic Toxicology
Associate Professor 301-405-7871 lyonkos@umd.edu
Mengqiang Zhu Affiliate Professor 301-405-3597 mqzhu@umd.edu

ENST Professors

Name Position Title Phone Email Address
Andy Baldwin
Wetland Ecology & Restoration
Professor   |   Video Intro 301-405-7855 baldwin@umd.edu
William Bowerman
Wildlife Ecology & Toxicology
Professor 301-405-1306 wbowerma@umd.edu
Frank Coale
Agricultural Nutrient
Management
Professor & Acting Assistant Dean 301-405-0505 fjcoale@umd.edu
Candice Duncan
Environmental Science &
Contaminant Remediation
Assistant Professor 301-405-1351 cduncan1@umd.edu 
Travis Gallo
Quantitative & Landscape
Ecology
Assistant Professor 301-405-1306 tgallo@umd.edu
Reginal Harrell
Natural Resource Ethics
Professor and Extension Specialist 301-405-6511 rharrell@umd.edu
Robert Hill
Soil Physics, Soil &
Water Management
Professor 301-405-1347 rlh@umd.edu
Stephanie Lansing
Bioenergy & Bioprocessing
Technology, Renewable Energy
Professor   |   Video Intro 301-405-1197 slansing@umd.edu 
Paul Leisnham
Human & Ecosystem Health
Professor and Department Chair 301-405-8569 leisnham@umd.edu
Peter May
Ecological Engineering &
Algal Ecotechnology
Assistant Research Professor 443-690-7021 pimay@umd.edu
Jennifer M Mullinax
Wildlife Ecology &
Management
Associate Professor 301-405-8373 wildlife@umd.edu
Brian Needelman
Pedology & Wetland Soils,
Carbon Sequestration
Associate Professor 301-405-8227 bneed@umd.edu 
Masoud Negahban-Azar
Water Resources &
Environmental Engineering
Associate Professor 301-405-1188 mnazar@umd.edu
Mitchell Pavao-Zuckerman
Urban Ecosystems &
Sustainability
Associate Professor 301-405-1178 mpzucker@umd.edu
Wendy Peer
Plant Biology &
Chemical Ecology
Associate Professor 301-405-5491 wapeer@umd.edu
Marty Rabenhorst
Pedology and Wetland Soils
Ray Weil E-Nnovate Endowed Professor
in Soil Science, Director of Graduate Studies
301-405-1343 mrabenho@umd.edu
Adel Shirmohammadi
Hydrologic Modeling &
Management
Professor, Associate Dean for Research and
Associate Director of Maryland Ag.
Experiment Station (MAES)
301-405-2459 ashirmo@umd.edu
David Tilley
Ecological Engineering &
Entrepreneurship
Associate Professor 301-405-8027 dtilley@umd.edu
Gurpal Toor
Nutrient Management &
Water Quality
Professor & Extension Specialist 301-405-1215 gstoor@umd.edu
Ray Weil
Soil Science
Professor   |   Video Intro 301-405-1314 rweil@umd.edu
Jared Wilmoth
Soil Chemistry
Assistant Professor 301-405-1306 jwilmoth@umd.edu
Stephanie Yarwood
Soil Microbial Ecology
Associate Professor 301-405-1345 syarwood@umd.edu
Lance Yonkos
Aquatic Toxicology
Associate Professor 301-405-7871 lyonkos@umd.edu

ENST Lecturers

Name Position Title Phone Email Address
Eni Baballari
Soil Science & Ecology
Lecturer & Advisor 301-405-7838 ebaballa@umd.edu
Shannon P. Browne
Urban Wildlife Ecology
Senior Lecturer & Advisor   |   Video Intro 301-405-1193 shannon3@umd.edu
Jennifer Gunnulfsen
Environmental Health
Lecturer & Advisor 301-405-1184 jgunnulf@umd.edu
Jose-Luis Izursa
Sustainable Food
Production Systems
Senior Lecturer & Advisor 301-405-1195 jlizursa@umd.edu
Maxine Levin Lecturer 301-526-8809 mjlevin@umd.edu

Adjunct & Affiliate Professors

Name Position Title  Phone Email Address
Lowell Adams Adjunct Associate Professor 301-405-1395 ladams4@umd.edu
Darren Jarboe Affiliate Principal Agent 301-405-6935 jarboe@umd.edu
Hemendra Kumar Affiliate Agent 301-226-7405 hemendra@umd.edu
Edward Landa
Inorganic & Radioactive
Contaminants
Adjunct Professor 703-220-6935 erlanda@umd.edu 
Jen Shaffer Affiliate Associate Professor 301-405-1441 lshaffe1@umd.edu
Patricia Steinhilber Affiliate Professor   psteinhi@umd.edu
Prabhakar Tamboli Adjunct Professor 301-405-1315 ptamboli@umd.edu
Mengqiang Zhu Affiliate Professor 301-405-3597 mqzhu@umd.edu

Research Staff & Post-Docs

Name Position Title  Phone Email Address
Naresh Amradi Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1187 nareshka@umd.edu
John Bouwkamp Faculty Assistant 301-405-4334 jbouwkam@umd.edu
Ruth Cassilly Faculty Assistant, Chesapeake Bay Agricultural Programs 410-652-0070 rcassill@umd.edu
Ling Du Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1343 lingdu@umd.edu
Shuiwang Duan Assistant Research Scientist 301-405-2851 sduan@umd.edu
Mark Dubin Faculty Specialist, Chesapeake Bay Agricultural Programs 410-267-9833 mdubin06@umd.edu
Matthew Gonnerman Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1179 mgonnerm@umd.edu
Johanna Harvey Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1179 jaharvey@umd.edu
Amro Hassanein
Bioenergy &
Bioprocessing Technology
Associate Research Scientist 301-405-7964 ahassane@umd.edu
Alexandra Huddell Faculty Assistant 301-405-8227 ahuddell@umd.edu
Diane Leason Faculty Assistant 410-474-5676 dleason@umd.edu
Peter May
Ecological Engineering &
Algal Ecotechnology
Assistant Research Professor 443-690-7021 pimay@umd.edu
Eugene Mironenko Faculty Assistant 301-405-8542 emironen@umd.edu
Catherine Oberfield Faculty Assistant 410-222-3900 catoberf@umd.edu
Daniela Ochoa Gonzalez Faculty Assistant 301-405-1197 daniela8@umd.edu
Maria Palomo Munoz Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1178 gpalomo@umd.edu
Jesse Radolinski Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1215 jradolin@umd.edu
Azbina Rahman Post-Doc Associate 301-405-1188 azbinar@umd.edu
Dana Sackett Assistant Research Professor 301-405-7871 dsackett@umd.edu
Alexander Yakirevich Faculty Assistant 410-833-1958 ayakirev@umd.edu