MDA Awarded $1 Million Grant, Names 3 ENST Representatives to Soil Health Advisory Committee

October 14, 2019

On Oct. 10th, the Maryland Department of Agriculture announced the membership of its Soil Health Advisory Committee, including three representatives from ENST:

Dr. Steve Mirsky - Adjunct Faculty ENST and USDA Agricultural Research Service Dietrich Epp Schmidt -Graduate Assistant, ENST, University of Maryland Dr. Ray Weil -Professor, ENST,  University of Maryland  Furthermore, The Maryland Department of Agriculture was awarded a $1 million grant through the Chesapeake Bay Stewardship Fund (CBSF) to promote healthy soil practices. This funding will allow the department to further its efforts in promoting widespread adoption of on-farm soil health practices, which increase carbon sequestration and protect water quality in the Chesapeake Bay watershed.